Improving Nework Discovery for BIG-IP

Authority
2511     0

Hi,

I am new to Infoblox, not mentioning I am not programming guru :-(. I am looking for generic info if something that I need can be at all imlemeted using WAPI or other means.

Network Discovery is doing quite nice job retrieving info about BIG-IP (F5) config. One thing missing is retrieving Virtual Server names.

When browsind Device data for BIG-IP (Interfaces) ale Virtual Servers (VS) are there but withut maping IP to VS name on BIG-IP.

Is ther any way to improve device discovery so it will include info about VS name in the Inerface section?

Piotr

Re: Improving Nework Discovery for BIG-IP

Adviser
2511     0

Hi Piotr,

I am assuming we are talking about NetMRI.

Device support can be enhanced through Device Support Bundles (DSB) and the Infoblox Engineering group maintains a queue of new devices that are being added for support along with enhancements for existing supported devices.

I would suggest reaching out to your account team to check if there are any existing enhancements planned around this and if not, they can submit a request for you. You can also create your own DSB but I would suggest checking to see if this is something that can be done for you first.

I hope that helps!

Check out our new Tech docs website at http://docs.infobox.com for latest documentation on Infoblox products

Authority
2511     0

Hi,

Thanks for reply. No, it's not about NetMRI, I am looking for a way to improve data collected by Network Insight (or Discovery). There is plenty of data collected but some quite usefull not. Assuming that both SNMP and CLI is used for that all data can be retrieved form F5 BIG-IP device, problem is how to do that and if that is possible.

Another option is to have some kind of script that can auto populate Extenssible Attribute.

Piotr

Moderator kzettel
2511     0

Hello Piotr,