API & Integration

Highlighted

Started working on a PowerShell module

AWahlqvist
Techie
6207     0

So, I'm very new to Infoblox and just started exploring what it can do and how to use it. I'm a windows-admin so I wont be managing the Infoblox itself, just the data in the zones that end up there.

Therefore I've started on a PowerShell module for managing DNS-records. I would obviously love to add support for other things than DNS, for example interaction with IPAM, but since this will probably be a fairly time consuming task I would like to check if any other windows-admin has already started on this?

You can check what I've done so far at my blog:
http://dollarunderscore.azurewebsites.net/?p=2201

It also contains a link to the code, which is uploaded to PoshCode.Org at:

http://poshcode.org/5044

Thanks in advance!

Powershell interface for Infoblox REST API

Adviser
6208     0

I had a separate thread started a few months ago that had some other functions for interfacing with the API using Powershell.  It looks like these two efforts could be merged if you're willing.

I have a respository on Github if you're okay posted your code there or allowing me to do so.

https://github.com/Infoblox-API/REST-PowerShell

Thank you for replying!

AWahlqvist
Techie
6208     0

Thank you for replying!

I actually created a repository at Github aswell just after I posted this yesterday, it's at: https://github.com/DollarUnderscore/Infoblox-PowerShell-Module

We should absolutely try to merge our efforts!

IMHO I think it really helps new users when following the general guidelines for building cmdlets. That link is mostly focused on writing them in C# but the basic conecepts apply for "script cmdlets" or "advanced functions" aswell. (naming conventions (Verb+Noun), how to output results (objects), parameters etc.)