Highlighted

Using WAPI to create Network container and networks

RYoung
Techie
7163     0

Hi,

I am just getting started using the WAPI API and would like to know how to create a network container and the networks inside the conatiner. I was able to create the network container, but have not been successful in determining the correct URL to create the networks inside the container. I have a requirement that will not permit me to use the Perl interface. Any help on this is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Ray

Re: Using WAPI to create

I-Team Employee
Employee
7164     0

If you take a look at this piece of sample code, it shows a way to create a network and do some simple manipulations. That's a starting point for what you want.

http://www.infoblox.com/community/content/overview-wapi-multiple-action-sample-code

RYoung
Techie
7164     0

Thanks for your reply.

When I tried to add a network to a previously created network container with the following URL

https://infoblox_host/wapi/v1.0/network?_return_type=xml&_method=POST&network_container=x.x.x.x/16&_...

I get the following error:

{ "Error": "AdmConProtoError: Unknown argument/field: 'network_container'",   "code": "Client.Ibap.Proto",   "text": "Unknown argument/field: 'network_container'"}

If I change 'network_container' to network, I get the same error, except it says 'network' is unknown. These fields are documented but don't seem to exist. The documentation is from the same machine as where the Infobox grid manager is running. I know we have beta code for WAPI, so is this a case of needing updated code? How can I check what version I have?

I-Team Employee
Employee
7164     0

next_available_network is not defined for a networkcontainer. It's only defined for a network. So for what you want to do, you'd need to create a networkcontainer and also a network object, and use the latter to find and create the next_available_network, then insert it into a networkcontainer. 

RYoung
Techie
7164     0