Company Blog


4 Key Elements for Securing Your Government Cloud Network

As your organization strives to achieve digital transformation through cloud adoption, security remains a top concern. Rightly so. Cyber attacks on government cloud networks can inflict significant monetary damage, expose highly sensitive information, disrupt services, even pose a risk to local, state or national security.


In planning your cloud adoption strategies, your network and security teams must ensure that your government cloud solutions can accommodate the security requirements for essential aspects of network functionality. Chief among these are the core network services upon which all network interactions depend—DNS, DCHP, and IP Address Management, collectively known as DDI. 


Securing Your Government Cloud Network

When assessing vendor options for securing your cloud network, you should give careful consideration to these four elements in particular:

  • Flexibility and choice. Much has been written about which government cloud platform is better—AWS or Microsoft Azure. Truth is, many organizations are deploying both. Infoblox is committed to providing our government customers with flexibility and choice when it comes to securing DDI services on the cloud platforms they prefer.
  • Infoblox is the only DDI vendor that is certified on multiple Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program (FedRAMP) infrastructure clouds, including AWS GovCloud and Azure Government. In addition, our DDI solutions give you the added flexibility to seamlessly manage and secure network devices and applications, centrally and automatically, across mixed network infrastructure, including on-premises, and public, private, and hybrid clouds.
  • DDI experience and cloud leadership. With nearly 50% market share, Infoblox is the market leader for enterprise-grade DNS, DCHP, and IP Address Management. More than 70% of Fortune 500 companies rely on our network management and security solutions. In the cloud arena, virtualized DDI appliances from Infoblox have been in use in the most secure cloud platforms since 2016, and serve a breadth of government customers.
  • Government certification roadmap. Your organization can better meet security goals for cloud deployments with vendors who have a clear certification roadmap. Infoblox current and near-term certifications include:
    • AWS GovCloud and Azure Government, both of which are accredited FedRAMP High, the designation for the government’s most sensitive, unclassified data in cloud computing environments
    • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Common Criteria Evaluation Level 2
    • Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2 (all requirements passed; final NIST validation in the process)
    • Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) - inclusion on the Approved Products List (APL) for Department of Defense (DoD) infrastructure

    (For more information on Infoblox certifications, please read the blog post, Supply Chain Management: Evaluating Your Vendors’ Certifications, by Infoblox CIO, Brad Bell.)

  • Security Partner Ecosystem. Cloud deployments—and certifications—don’t exist in isolation. Your secure cloud implementation requires ecosystem partners who not only have cloud expertise but are also well on their way to achieving their own government cloud certifications. Infoblox has a broad set of technology, channel, and managed services ecosystem partners that meet these criteria. 

Explore Your Government Cloud Options

When it comes to securing government networks in the cloud, choose your vendors wisely. Those that combine flexibility, advanced services, cloud expertise, demonstrated security commitment and strategic partner relationships can put you in the best position to execute your government cloud initiatives cost-effectively and with peace of mind.


Learn more about Infoblox solutions for government organizations:

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean