Accepted Solution

Inherited Infoblox deployment and trying to figure it out

lanwench
Techie
2258     0

Hi all - I'm a Windows/AD sysadmin, not a network geek, so forgive me for what will inevitably be poorly-worded questions!

We're on NIOS 7.3.8-340539. 

We have a grid with ~9 HA pairs in multiple locations. 

We have moved from AD-integrated DNS to Infoblox but have a ton of other internal, non-AD zones in BIND. 

One of these is currently set up in Infoblox as a forward zone, and I need to find out how to create it as a secondary DNS zone instead.

Reasoning: We want to add more reliability due to a possibly unreliable WAN link (and planned network changes) by having a full read-only copy of the zone in Infoblox - that's what a secondary zone would be, correct? 

I have never set up a zone from scratch in Infoblox and am having a hard time finding how-to documentation on this. Do I start by creating an authoritative zone? I'm not sure how I then tell it to be secondary & initiate a zone transfer. I also don't want to do anything that will disrupt the existing forward zone (I guess this means, keep it disabled until we're ready to remove the forward zone?)

I know just enough about DNS to be dangerous. Any how-to guidance (doc, videos, real-life anecdotes) would be most welcome. 

Thank you!

Re: Inherited Infoblox deployment and trying to figure it out

Adviser
2259     0
@lanwench wrote:

I have never set up a zone from scratch in Infoblox and am having a hard time finding how-to documentation on this.

There is an Infoblox Core DDI Deployment Guide at https://www.infoblox.com/wp-content/uploads/infoblox-deployment-guide-core-ddi-basics-nios-8.pdf that provides some basic examples of zone and record creation.

Do I start by creating an authoritative zone? I'm not sure how I then tell it to be secondary & initiate a zone transfer.