Infoblox Exchange Cybersecurity Roadshow 2020 – Join us!
North America | Europe | Middle East/Africa | Asia-Pacific

DNS DHCP IPAM

Reply
Accepted Solution

Lost configuration after upgrading, adding new configuration objects then revert

Guru
Posts: 185
2112     0

When you upgrade the Trinzic appliances in your Grid to a newer software version, then add a couple of zones to a couple of those devices, then decide to revert to the old software version, why do lose any changes you have mades since the upgrade? I mean shouldn't the configuration be intact no matter wheter you upgrade or downgrade? Does this have to do with a point which is in an upgrade, the newer software version knows all the details of the older version including the where about of the configuration "Database", while when you revert to the older version, the older version does not know the details of the newer software version, thus the loss of configuration.

 

Is this how it is?

Re: Lost configuration after upgrading, adding new configuration objects then revert

GHorne Community Manager
Community Manager
Posts: 248
2113     0

Short answer : the databases are not compatable between versions

 

Long answer :

 

NIOS versions can often include changes to the database schema, so there is no guarantee it will be compatable between versions.

 

The appliance also has 2 boot partitions. So when you upgrade, the database is copied to the new boot partition, converted to the new format (if there was a format change) and the system boots the new partition. 

 

If you make changes after upgrading there is no process that 'syncs' the database back to the other partitiion, and if you revert, the database is not converted or copied (for the above schema reasons), it just boots tho old partition.

 

And if you made a config change that uses a new feature of the new version, how does that get converted back to the old version? (and how do you define a translation matrix that could do that for all versions of NIOS). 

 

I hope that makes sense.

Re: Lost configuration after upgrading, adding new configuration objects then revert

Guru
Posts: 185
2113     0
Thank you
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Recommended for You