Infoblox Exchange Cybersecurity Roadshow 2020 – Join us!
North America | Europe | Middle East/Africa | Asia-Pacific

DNS DHCP IPAM

On premise Infoblox appliance and ActiveDirectory DNS

blason16
Techie
1732     0

Hi there,

I am pretty new to Infoblox and thinking to put on-premise appliance. I do already have windows AD/DNS and in my scenario only chage I need is to put forwarder on my windows DNS Server to Infoblox appliance, right?

Well I was testing with BIND RPZ before making final purchase and I noticed that not all DNS queries are being forwarded to BIND RPZ, certain .com and .net entries Windows AD is trying to resolve on his own from Root TLD servers and not being forwarded to RPZ server.

Wondering if same would happen after infoblox purchase then wont have any option left.

Any clues guys?

Thanks and Regards,

Lionel F

Re: On premise Infoblox appliance and ActiveDirectory DNS

[ Edited ]
Adviser
1732     0

I'm very curiius which .com and .net domains the AD DNS tries to resolve itself. I'm almost 100% sure Infoblox will forward any query where it's not authoritative for, assuming you configured it to forward-only.

Regards, Harry

Adviser
1732     0

Hello Lionel,

Good to hear that you’ve decided to try Infoblox. As you’re planning to add Infoblox as a forwarder on the existing Microsoft servers, I hope your intension is to be able to send all recursive traffic to Infoblox & make use of our on prem Active trust feeds(RPZ), to block non-legitimate traffic ? If that is what you are trying to do, then your configuration sounds to be right. In case if you are planning to use Infoblox for handling your authoritative DNS data too(Currently handled by Microsoft), you may need to migrate that data into Infoblox servers.