Learn How We Can Help You Keep Teleworkers Protected During the COVID-19 Crisis

DNS DHCP IPAM

Highlighted

Secondary IP address/pseudo-interface NOT loopback

[ Edited ]
Expert
5098     0

Do Infoblox have any plans to add a secondary IP address/pseudo-interface feature for networking purposes?

On Linux I can do "ifconfig eth0:1 192.168.0.10" and bring up a secondary IP address on a pseudo-interface but this is not possible in Infoblox, you have to add a loopback and then add a static route on the upstream router. Unfortunately that's not possible in this customers environment as Cisco won't allow that route to be added - I'm not a networking expert so have to take their word for it.

It's a migration project so I need to maintain the old IP's for a period of time so now we are looking at maybe using the LAN2 interface. However this would all be a lot easier if I could just configure a pseudo-interface like you can on Linux.

How about it?

Paul Roberts
PCN (UK) Ltd

All opinions expressed are my own and not representative of PCN Inc./PCN (UK) Ltd. E&OE
Highlighted

Re: Secondary IP address/pseudo-interface NOT loopback

Adviser
5098     0

Hi Paul,

No plans that I am aware of as the loopback interface typically meets the requirements and has been used for this use case. 

Curious that the customer says "Cisco won't allow..." with regards to the static route. Just about any router should allow a static route to be set for any network/IP to any gateway/IP so perhaps the issue is more permission based or what is acceptable in their environment. Nothing fancy here.

Sorry I can't help on the secondary IP but perhaps you give the customer a little nudge for the static route if they need to maintain their old IP addresses as well!

Steve S.
Highlighted

Expert
5098     0