Learn How We Can Help You Keep Teleworkers Protected During the COVID-19 Crisis

Network Change & Configuration Management

Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Automate large number of configuration changes based upon regex match on current configuration

[ Edited ]
Techie
4002     0

I'm completely new to Infoblox/NetMRI.

In the environment that I'm working in, network devices (~3500) are configured to send log/SNMP trap data to one of two forwarders. Currently, this is severely out of balance, and it's my task to bring it closer to 50/50.

I've put together a Perl script using NetMRI::API to retrieve all of the devices:

my @devices = $client->broker->device->index(
        select => [qw(DeviceID DeviceName)]
    ); 

Which I then iterate, pull the config, and execute a simple regex match against:

foreach my $device (@devices) {
        print($device->running_config_text()->{running_config_text} =~ /10\.10\.10\.10/);
    }

Already however, this is very slow, and I'll have more pattern matching and replacement to do later on if I continue with this solution.

Are there other, possibly better (faster/easier) approaches that I should be considering?

Highlighted

Re: Automate large number of configuration changes based upon regex match on current configuration

Adviser
4003     0
One option: You could go into the Config Management -> Config Search and do the search from there (say, ”logging 10.10.10.10”). Then, you can select the all the devices from the list and just do ”Execute Command”.

Another: You could define some criteria for which devices get which logging statement, than create a policy rule to valid that it set correctly. For those that do not match, a Policy Violation issue will be raised. You can select those and run a job. Or, you can create a Triggered Job to correct the value when it is not set properly.

John
Highlighted

Re: Automate large number of configuration changes based upon regex match on current configuration

[ Edited ]
Techie
4003     0