Learn How We Can Help You Keep Teleworkers Protected During the COVID-19 Crisis

Network Change & Configuration Management

Reply
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Removed but not deleted network devices

Techie
Posts: 7
511     0

Hello,

 

We currently keep network devices in the NetMRI database for 30 days after their physical removal (in order to retain the device configuration backup). However, this leads to connection/login errors when running automated CCS/Pyhton scripts on the removed devices (part of a device group). The change blackout feature could be a possible answer but I believe it can only be applied to a group / network rather than individual devices and the 'locked change' attribute still tries to login to the removed devices.

 

Is there a NetMRI attribute / feature to identify physically removed devices to "skip" them during job automation? 

 

I suppose we could create a custom field to identify removed devices and filter on them within automation job/scripts but just wondering if there's a built-in feature in NetMRI we can leverage.Thanks.

 

 

Highlighted

Re: Removed but not deleted network devices

Adviser
Posts: 422
511     0

You can exclude them from the Group Smiley Happy and/or create another group with those devices base on the custom fields.

 

 

Follow me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/sifbaksh
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sifbaksh
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Recommended for You