Highlighted

DNS Report help

[ Edited ]
ArjunDj
Techie
3150     0

Dear All,

I am a newbie to infoblox reporting module.I want to run a job for getting TOP DNS client per domain report and when i run the job i am getting no result found but we have lot of DNS queries happening.Below is the script that I can see in the search option.I need a report for like what is the source IP and there queried URL.Really looking forward for a solution.

index=ib_dns_summary report=si_top_clients_per_domain | lookup dns_viewkey_displayname_lookup VIEW output display_name | stats sum(COUNT) as CLIENT_QUERIES by FQDN CLIENT | sort -CLIENT_QUERIES | head 10 | eventstats sum(CLIENT_QUERIES) as TOTAL | eval PERCENT=round(CLIENT_QUERIES*100/TOTAL,1) | eval PCLIENT=CLIENT+"("+PERCENT+"%)" | rename FQDN as "Domain", CLIENT as "Client", CLIENT_QUERIES as Queries | fields "Domain", "Client", Queries

Thanks

AJ

Re: DNS Report help

Adviser
3151     0

Hello AJ and welcome!

Do your other reports work? Can you see the raw events? Try searching wih:

index=ib_dns_summary report=si_top_clients_per_domain

If that doesn't return anything it could indicate that your DNS appliances aren't properly sending data to the reporting server. This could be for a number of reasons:

• You haven't configured the indexes properly under the "grid reporting properties"
  • Network ACLs are preventing the necessary communications

ArjunDj
Techie
3151     0

Thanks RBarlow for the reply.

We dont have any ACL configured.

And sorry to ask what do you mean by indexes configuration...what option should I check for to generate this report.Other reports like RPZ hit report and all are working.

Adviser
3151     0

Search the NIOS admin guide for the section on "Reporting (Index) Storage Space". It describes the indexes and hwo to configure them.

Adviser
3151     0

Hi AJ,