Highlighted

How to test with RPZ?

TSun
Techie
11697     0

Hi, 

I'm new to use RPZ in Infoblox NIOS 7.0, I've used Blacklist Rulesets before, so I thought it is similar to use RPZ for my bad domains. 

The way I test with Blacklist Ruleset is to make a machine use the DNS local server in Infoblox, and it works. However in the same way, I'm not able to test with the RPZ zone I created, which including some rules in it.

Anyone can help me with it? I really appreciate it.

Re: How to test with RPZ?

Jamison_Utter
Techie
11698     0

The easiest test is to format a list of bad (or suspected bad) domains into a text file. Imagine a list like this:

Bad.com

thief.com

suspect.org

Then feed that file into dig using the -f (for file flag). If your using windows you can get dig from the bind toolkit, otherwise it should be availible from a Mac terminal or Linux terminal. 

Does that help?

@TSun wrote:

Hi, 

I'm new to use RPZ in Infoblox NIOS 7.0, I've used Blacklist Rulesets before, so I thought it is similar to use RPZ for my bad domains. 

The way I test with Blacklist Ruleset is to make a machine use the DNS local server in Infoblox, and it works. However in the same way, I'm not able to test with the RPZ zone I created, which including some rules in it.

Anyone can help me with it? I really appreciate it.

Jamison Utter

TSun
Techie
11698     0

Hi Jamison,

Thanks for your quick reply! I tried with your suggestions and refer to documents, but I don't see it takes effect base on the log in Syslog.

For example, I define a rule to substitude the domain 'abb.com' with 'google.com' in my local RPZ zone, but after I run 'dig @my_infoblox_ip_address abb.com', I checked the syslog and still found that 'abb.com' being ping directly with a reponse message 'NO ERROR +EV', it looks that it takes effect.

Also, every time I add some new rules to my RPZ zone, do I need to restart my DNS service to make it take effect?

Thanks!

Jamison_Utter
Techie
11698     0