Hi Val,
Locking a zone is to prevent someone else can do chages to the zone while it is locked. The zone is still serving via DNS while it is locked.
A disabled zone does not serve via DNS anymore. You would typically disable a zone that is no longer needed prior to deleting it. If it appears the zone should still be in service you can simply re-enable it again.
Kind regards,
Erik