Reply
Accepted Solution

7.3.8 - Restart of services

[ Edited ]
SFallon
Techie
Posts: 8
7326     0

I have just upgraded to NIOS 7.3.8 and my Infoblox support users are noticing that the restart services option is no longer available to them. (the "Show Restart Banner" in the Grid properties IS enabled).

 

Previously when an IPAM entry was changed, they would restart the services to have the changes applied. Now that option to them is not there however, it IS there for me logged in as an admin user.

 

Can someone advise if the changes that the support staff are making are actually applied (they do look as though they) or does the services require a restart by an admin?

 

Is there a way to automate infoblox to restart services IF required?

 

Thanks in advanceSmiley Happy
Sue

Re: 7.3.8 - Restart of services

Adviser
Posts: 213
7326     0
Restart does not apply for changes to DNS hostnames (those were always immediately implemented). For any change to the zone configuration or for DHCP, you would get the restart banner.

Depending on what version of code you upgraded from, there have been enhancements that allow some changes to the zone configurations without a restart. What version did you upgrade to 7.3.8 from?

Re: 7.3.8 - Restart of services

SFallon
Techie
Posts: 8
7326     0

When you configure or modify a fixed address, a DHCP service restart is required by default in order for the new configuration to take effect. You can override this default behavior by enabling the appliance to take immediate action when you configure or modify a fixed address outside a DHCP range without restarting DHCP service. You can enable this feature at the Grid or member level.

To enable immediate fixed address configuration:

1. Grid: From the Data Management tab, select the DHCP tab, and then click Grid DHCP Properties from the Toolbar. Member: From the Data Management tab, select the DHCP tab -> Members tab -> member check box, and then click the Edit icon.

2. In the DHCP Properties editor, click Toggle Advanced Mode if the editor is in basic mode. When the additional tabs appear, click the General tab -> Advanced tab and complete the following: — Immediate FA Configuration: Select this check box to enable the new configuration immediately without restarting DHCP service when you modify or delete a fixed address.

3. Save the configuration and restart DHCP service.

Highlighted

Re: 7.3.8 - Restart of services

RQuinlan_1
Techie
Posts: 9
7326     0

Despite this being a great and long-anticipated feature, we experienced DHCP issues when enabling it - twice.  Both times, more than one support representative advised that "It's not recommended to enable this feature" so we've had to disable it.

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Recommended for You