Forced discovery through a PERL script

CKrieter
Techie
3099     0

I am trying to write a PERL script that will force Netmri to do a "Discover Now" on an ip (ideally a series of ips) of devices that are newly added to the network.  Normally, the discovery process can take up to 24 hours for the full process to run. This is not ideal.  Until a device is fully discovered, we are unable to evaluate it with our policies or run remediation scripts against it. This causes us extra paperwork and process to circle back and remediate policy violations that should have been addressed immediately.

I am new to Perl and the API but I was able to borrow the script from this thread: https://community.infoblox.com/forum/network-automation/how-check-disco-completed-perl-api and it seems to perform the behaviour I want.  However, I need to enhance this to be useful to my users.  A couple of questions: 

- I would like the user to be able to specify an ip (or a list of IPs) to have a 'Discover now' performed.   I have this built into Script-variables but I'm not clear on how to pass this to the script to use. (Just calling the variable name isn't working)

- The script creates a static entry for the device through the broker/discovery_setting;  We already have the ranges configured in the Ranges tab in Discovery Settings.  Will this overlap cause a problem?  Is there another method to remove the static entry after the device is discovered?  "my $devices = $easy->broker->discovery_setting->remove({"??

- Is this a bad idea? Will it cause issues down the road?

TL;DR - Need a script to force an immediate discovery of a device or a series of devices. 

-------------------------------------

#!/usr/bin/perl -w

# BEGIN-SCRIPT-BLOCK
#
# Script-Filter:
# true
#
# Script-Login:
# false
#
# Script-Variables:
# $mgmt_ip ipaddress "Management IP"
#
# END-SCRIPT-BLOCK

use strict;
use warnings;
use NetMRI_Easy 0.6;

my $easy = new NetMRI_Easy({ api_version => 2.9 });

eval {