Introducing SOC Insights for BloxOne Threat Defense: Boost your SOC efficiency with AI-driven insights to eliminate manual work and accelerate investigation and response times. Read the blog announcement here.

NIOS DNS DHCP IPAM

Issues with creating a grid

1094     0

I'm new to IB and have been working through a POC as my company is evaluating DDI. I've had success with trialing some core features of IB DDI using a single node, but I'm running into multiple issues with building out the platform of the solution - i.e., HA and grid deployment. I'm a veteran IT professional so I'm a bit puzzled as to why I'm having so many issues. Am I missing something completely obvious, is the environment I'm building this in inherently wrong, or is this a common thing IB users deal with?

Anyways, I'll start with the grid setup... Below is the basic network topology and shows were these nodes are connected. This is all internal and there are no FWs filtering traffic between the nodes

General setup

• These are all newly deployed servers running 8.6.2.
  • Post deployment I logged into each server and ran 'set network' and configured an IP address for LAN1. The AWS instance is slightly different because it required two NICS - LAN1 and MGMT0
  • On each node's CLI I ran 'set temp_license' and selected option #2 (DNS, DHCP, GRID)
  • I have full network connectivity between each node (they can all ping each other).
  • The Vmware distributed portgroup's security settings (promiscuous mode, mac address changes, and forges transmits) and all set to accept.

Grid master setup

• I logged into the node I want to be a master and followed the wizard to setup the grid. This is a standalone non-HA member.
  • Changed the grid name from infoblox to infobloxlocal
  • Added the secret key for the grid
  • I added two members to the grid (I made sure they were added as Virtual NIOS nodes)

Grid member setup