Introducing SOC Insights for BloxOne Threat Defense: Boost your SOC efficiency with AI-driven insights to eliminate manual work and accelerate investigation and response times. Read the blog announcement here.

API & Integration, DevOps,NetOps,SecOps

IP-address and Level

4755     0

Hi,

First: I have very limited experience with Infoblox in general, and NIOS/Ipam in particular. I am an appllication manager of our system though - so are learning. We are running a very old version (6.12) of the system, but are looking to update - providing our request gets the go-ahead.

I've come up against a problem, where developers of a service requires that they are able to get a report of all IP-networks and the data in the extensible attribute "Level" for each network. I've been unable to use the GUI tools (partly because they keep aborting without producing any report what ever). So was looking to extract this information through API calls.

Is this possible with this old version? How would such a call look? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Re: IP-address and Level

[ Edited ]
4755     0

Hello,

NIOS 6.12 will work great, it can use WAPI versions 1.0 through 2.0.  And WAPI version 2.0 can be used in any later release, so you don't need to rewrite any WAPI scripts once you upgrade the NIOS software.  Notice that the WAPI version must be included as part of the request.

I do all my examples with the unix comnand "curl", and I prefer JSON format.  It's a personal preference.  You could also write Powershell scripts, or even post the URL in a browser window, and it will display in XML format.  Either one will give you a list of networks and the extensible attribute/value pairs for each network.

This command:

curl -k1 -u admin:infoblox -X GET 'https://192.168.1.2/wapi/v2.0/network?_return_fields%2b=extattrs'

returns a long list of networks, including this one.  I don't have the "Level" extensibe attribute, but instead I have Data Center and Network Type.

[
   {