When the TTL expires, the cached record is purged from cache. If the record is requested again, by a client, the server will ask for it again. It's a normal function of DNS. What behavior did you want to override?
We're also seeing this on 8.4.7, although the changes are going into effect and the status on the Restart Groups is showing appropriate information for what was changed. Using Chrome and Edge (which is based off Chrome).